After Rohit Sharma, these players will be the big contenders for captaincy

Sri Lanka Team India has been announced for the Test series against. The captaincy of the Test team has been handed over to Rohit Sharma. The Indian team will play the last T20 match against West Indies on 20 February. After this, the limited overs series against Sri Lanka will start from February 24. At the same time, instead of Virat Kohli, the reins of Test captain have also been handed over to Hitman. While the vice-captain of the Test team has been given to Jasprit Bumrah. But, after Rohit Sharma, Chetan Sharma has disclosed about who will be in this race.

BCCI is looking to make the captain after Hitman

Along with announcing the team against Sri Lanka on Friday, the BCCI has entrusted the captaincy responsibility to Hitman. Talking about the selection of the team, Chetan Sharma said that he is preparing some young players to be captains. Earlier in the Test series against New Zealand, opener KL Rahul was given the captaincy of the team.

But, he had to face defeat under his captaincy. During that time Rohit Sharma was unfit and was not a part of the series played against South Africa. Jasprit Bumrah was given the vice-captaincy in that series. Chief selector Chetan Sharma has also revealed the reason behind making Jasprit Bumrah the vice-captain.

BCCI is preparing these youths for captaincy

jasprit bumrah and kl rahul

Chetan Sharma told after the announcement of the team that in the absence of Rohit Sharma, he is preparing some youth to make him the new captain. According to him, the BCCI is grooming KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant and Jasprit Bumrah to be the next captain. This is the big reason why these players are being made vice-captains. At present, Rishabh Pant and KL Rahul have been rested in the Test series. This is the reason why the vice-captain of the team has been handed over to Bumrah.

18-man squad announced for Test series against Sri Lanka

Test Team Against Sri Lanka

Rohit Sharma (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant, KS Bharat, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain), Mohammed Shami , Mohammad Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Saurabh Kumar