Badminton Asia apologizes to PV Sindhu, admits mistake, Indian star started crying after umpire’s decision

PV Sindhu had lost 21-13, 19-21, 16-21 in the match that lasted 3 games.

Image Credit source: PTI

During the semi-final match of the Women’s Singles of Asia Badminton Championship, PV Sindhu had to lose the match due to the mistake of the referee.

Badminton Asia (BAC) technical committee chairman Chih Shen Chen, a two-time Olympic medalist PV Sindhu (PV Sindhu) She apologized for the human error of the referee during the women’s singles semifinal match of the Badminton Asia Championships in April. Sindhu had tears in her eyes after an unfair decision by the umpires in the middle of her semi-final match against Japan’s Akane Yamaguchi. After this decision, Sindhu’s rhythm got disturbed and she had to be content with the bronze medal after facing defeat. In a letter to Sindhu, the official said that unfortunately, now there is no scope for improvement in this (the then decision). However, we have taken necessary steps to avoid the recurrence of this human error.

An extra point was given to the opposing player

He wrote that we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We believe it is part of the game and should be accepted as such. The incident happened when Sindhu was leading 14-11 in the second game after winning the first game. After this, the umpire gave an extra point to the opposing player as a punishment for taking a break for more time. Sindhu then lost her momentum and lost 21-13, 19-21, 16-21 in the match that lasted three games. The Indian player was seen chatting with the chief referee after the chair umpire asked Yamaguchi to hand over the shuttle, but no one paid heed to his words.

read this also



Yamaguchi was not ready

Sindhu said at that time that the umpire told me that you are taking a lot of time but the opponent player was not ready at that time, but the umpire suddenly gave him the point and it was really unfair. I think that was also one of the reasons for my loss in that match. Sindhu, a member of the World Badminton Federation (BWF) Athletes’ Commission, immediately wrote a letter to the world body and the Badminton Confederation of Asia opposing the decision. Sindhu’s father PV Ramana expressed hope that such incidents would not happen in future. He told PTI-language that I am glad that he accepted the mistake. I request that if such a situation arises again, the referee should take some time and take a proper decision after watching the video recording. Sindhu. Currently busy in Malaysia Masters Super 500 tournament in Kuala Lumpur.