CSK MI’s 1000 number, funny rules and new leaders, 16 most important things of the 16th season of IPL. IPL 2023: Know 16 big and important things about the 16th season of cricket league

The 16th season of IPL will start from March 31 with the match between Gujarat and Chennai. This season will end with the finale on 28 May. Meanwhile, 74 matches will be played in the tournament within about two months, in which 70 are league stage matches.

Started in 2008, IPL has reached its 16th year.

Image Credit source: BCCI

New Delhi: The world’s biggest cricket league has returned once again. started in 2008 Indian Premier League The 16th season of (IPL 2023) is going to start from 31 March. In the first match of this ten-team tournament, defending champions Gujarat Titans and Chennai Super Kings will compete. Once again Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ben Stokes, including many great cricketers of the world, there will be a tremendous battle of T20 cricket for about two months, after which the champion will be decided.

Now who will be the champion of IPL 2023, it will be known only after a few weeks, but what can be known now are the special things of the 16th season. Like every time, this time also many such things in the tournament, which would not have been noticed by everyone, there are some such things, which will be seen for the first time. So let us tell you 16 special things about the 16th season of IPL.

Read this also:Bat snatched from Rohit Sharma on the middle of the road, what happened to the captain?: Video

16 special things of IPL 16

  1. In IPL 2023, 10 teams have been divided into two groups of five each. The same was done in the last season as well. The only difference is that this time the team of each group will play 2-2 matches against the other five teams of the other group, whereas only one match will be played against the remaining 4 teams of their group.
  2. A total of 74 matches will be played in the tournament, out of which 70 matches will be of the league stage. These 70 matches will be played in 12 cities. Out of this, apart from the home ground of all 10 teams, matches will also be held in Guwahati and Dharamshala. IPL matches will be played for the first time in Guwahati.
  3. The tournament will feature a total of 18 doubleheaders between the start of March 31 and the final on May 28. That means two matches in one day. Day matches will start at 3.30 pm like last time, while all the evening matches will start from 7.30 pm.
  4. In this season, IPL will also touch the figure of 1000. Means 1000 matches. The coincidence is also such that this match will be played between the two most successful teams of the league, Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. Note the date – 6th May.
  5. The BCCI has so far released only the schedule of league matches, which will start from March 31 till May 21. The schedule of 4 matches of the playoffs including the final will be released in the middle of the tournament.
  6. IPL 2023 will be the first season in which veteran fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah of India and Mumbai Indians will not play. He is out due to back injury. Apart from Bumrah, Rishabh Pant will also not be able to play any IPL season for the first time.
  7. This time in IPL, three new captains will be seen handling the command of the teams. Punjab Kings has made Shikhar Dhawan the captain, while SRH has given the responsibility to Aiden Markram. At the same time, in the absence of Rishabh Pant, David Warner will see Delhi. By the way, KKR will also have to make a new captain because it is difficult for Shreyas Iyer to play.
  8. IPL was organized in bio-bubble for 3 consecutive seasons during the Corona transition, but now finally IPL will be held without bubble.
  9. With this, the tournament has returned to its old ‘Home and Away’ format. Out of the last 3 seasons, the entire season of 2020 and half of the season of 2021 were played in UAE. At the same time, the matches of the half season of 2021 were held in a few cities, while the entire 2022 season was played in Mumbai, while the playoffs including the finals were held in Ahmedabad and Kolkata.
  10. Despite the removal of the bio-bubble, the BCCI has kept the rules regarding corona infection the same as before. That is, if found corona infected, the player will have to remain in isolation for a week.
  11. This time some new rules have also come in IPL. The most important of these is the Impact Player. Under this, every team will get a chance to replace one player in any innings during the match. However, the player who goes out will not be able to play again. Also, only 11 players will be able to bat in an innings.
  12. Apart from this, there is also a change in the playing eleven. From now on, the captain will be able to keep two playing eleven ready in the toss. After the toss, there will be an option to field the playing eleven prepared according to the first batting or bowling. Along with this, 4 players will also be named in the playing eleven, any one of which can be substituted.
  13. Not only this, this time the players will have the option of taking DRS even on wide or no ball decisions. It is being used in WPL these days.
  14. Also, the punishment for slow over rate has been made more stringent. Now, during the remaining overs, the fielding team will be able to field only 4 fielders instead of 5 outside the 30 yard circle during the remaining overs.
  15. On the other hand, wrong movement of wicketkeeper or fielders at the time of bowling, which causes trouble to the batsman, will be considered as Unfair Movement and a penalty of 5 runs will be imposed on the fielding team.
  16. In the 16th season of IPL, some famous foreign faces will also be seen, who are becoming a part of the league for the first time. It also has names like England veteran Joe Root, explosive batsman Harry Brook, Australia’s star all-rounder Cameron Green, Bangladesh’s dashing batsman Liton Das, New Zealand’s Michael Bracewell and Ireland’s pacer Josh Little.

Read this also: Explosive batting, mountain-like scores, 5 stars of IPL’s biggest innings, record maintained for 10 years