Former captain Dilip Tirkey became the new President of Hockey India, won the election unopposed

Former India captain and Olympian Dilip Tirkey did not face any challenge in the election and was elected unopposed as the president.

Dilip Tirkey appointed as President of Hockey India

former captain of india Dilip Tirkey Has been elected as the new President of Hockey India. This player, who represented the country for 15 years, went to the president unopposed. All the rivals standing against him withdrew their names, after which Tirkey was elected president. Tirkey is currently the chairman of the Odisha Hockey Promotion Council. He has also been a member of Rajya Sabha before this.

Tirkey’s eyes on the World Cup

After being elected president, Tirkey took to Twitter to thank the FIH for organizing the elections and promised that he would do his duty well. Talking to News 9 after becoming the chairman, he said, ‘We have to continue to do good work like the previous members did. India won the bronze medal in the Olympics and now we are desperate to play the World Cup final. Our eyes are on the World Cup to be held in Bhubaneswar and Rourkela.

Tirkey was elected unopposed

Tirkey had filed his nomination on September 18. He was up against Uttar Pradesh Hockey President Rakesh Katyal and Jharkhand Hockey President K Bhola Nath. However, both withdrew their names. Bhola Nath has been a national level wrestler but did not want to go against Lah Tirkey. He gave full support to Tirkey and withdrew his name. Apart from Tirkey, Bhola Nath Singh was elected as the Secretary General. Asima Ali of Jammu and Kashmir Hockey was elected as the Women’s Vice President while Hockey Karnataka’s S VS Subramaniam was made the Men’s Vice President.

Tirkey has played 412 matches for India

Tirkey, 44, has represented India at the international level for 15 years. During this he played 412 matches and also captained India. During his career, this full back player was known for his penalty corner hits and excellent defense. Tirkey also has two twin brothers who played hockey for the Indian Railways. After retirement, he was sent to the Rajya Sabha by the Biju Janata Dal.