KKR batsmen clashed with umpires over DRS, started questioning and answering on their own mistake

KKR’s Rinku Singh and Sam Billings started discussing with the umpires regarding DRS.

Image Credit source: BCCI

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) had lost 4 wickets till the 10th over and the team needed a partnership, but with this wicket that hope was also broken.

In IPL 2022, along with ball and bat action, umpiring and related matters have also been discussed a lot. Sometimes teams and fans have expressed displeasure over the decision of the umpires regarding the wide ball, and sometimes Delhi Capitals captain Rishabh Pant starts recalling his players regarding the no-ball. Many a times players have been unhappy with the decision of the umpires. However, sometimes there are occasions when players themselves make mistakes and then the decision of the umpire does not seem right to them and they express their displeasure. something similar happened Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad (KKR vs SRH) In the match, where KKR’s batsmen made a shocking mistake regarding DRS.

In the crucial match against Hyderabad in Pune on Saturday 14 May, Kolkata batted first, but the team lost its wickets at frequent intervals despite batting fast. By the 10th over, the team’s score was 83 runs and captain Shreyas Iyer got out at this time and returned to the pavilion. Now Rinku Singh and Sam Billings were at the crease and the team was expecting a good partnership from both, but the game was over in just one and a half overs and the way it happened, it surprised everyone.

Own fault, KKR collided with the umpires

On the third ball of the 12th over, T Natarajan bowled a great yorker against left-handed batsman Rinku Singh. Rinku could not play this ball and the ball hit his pad. After much thought on SRH’s appeal, the umpire declared LBW out. Rinku had the option of taking DRS and for this he discussed with Billings for some time. Billings pointed at the last second, but the umpire did not accept it and then the time was up. There was a lot of confusion about this and both the batsmen started discussing with the umpires. He believed that he appealed on time, but the matter was different.

Actually Billings appealed for DRS, but the umpire did not accept it because the decision did not come against him, but against Rinku Singh. According to the rules, the batsman against whom the decision is made, he has to appeal only. The DRS sought by the partner is not acceptable.

read this also

Will DRS have changed the verdict?

In such a simple rule, Billings and Rinku Singh made a big mistake and despite long discussions and pleas with the umpires, there was no success. Rinku had to return disappointed. He could only score 5 runs. However, in the replays that were shown later, it was clear that the review was of no use, as the ball was directly hitting the stumps and Rinku’s bat could not even touch the ball.