Punam Raut expressed his displeasure on social media

ICC Women’s World Cup 2022: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday announced a 16-member squad for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2022. Opener Poonam Rawat has not been given a place in this team. Apart from them, top-order batsman Jemimah Rodrigues and fast bowler Shikha Pandey have also been dropped from the team. After which a lot of questions have started arising on the selection committee. In this episode, now Poonam Raut has also expressed her displeasure.

Poonam Rawat expressed her displeasure

Team India’s opener Poonam Rawat performed very well in the year 2021. This year he played a total of 6 ODIs and scored 295 runs. Which included one century and two half-centuries. Despite such good performance, Poonam was ignored from the World Cup team. After which Poonam is very disappointed with this decision of the selection committee. He has also expressed his displeasure on social media. However, along with this, he has also congratulated the team for this mega event. He wrote in a tweet on Twitter,

As one of the most experienced batsmen and despite consistent performances last year, I am disappointed to be ignored in the World Cup team selection. My average in 2021 was 73.75. I scored 295 runs in 6 ODIs.

New players have got a chance in the team

Apart from Poonam Raut, Jemima Rodrigues, all-rounder Shikha Pandey also did not get a place in the team. Jemima made a lot of noise with her batting in ‘The Hundred’ league played a few months ago. At the same time, Shikha has 55 ODI experience. Despite this, both these players have been ignored for this big tournament.

Himachal Pradesh’s Renuka Singh and Uttar Pradesh’s all-rounder Meghna Singh have also got their place in the World Cup team. Renuka has not made her ODI debut yet. While Meghna has played 3 ODIs.

Here is the Indian team for the World Cup: Mithali Raj (Captain), Harmanpreet Kaur (Vice-Captain), Smriti Mandhana, Shefali Verma, Yastika Bhatia, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh (WK), Sneh Rana, Jhulan Goswami, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Singh Thakur, Tania Bhatia (WK) ), Rajeshwari Gaikwad and Poonam Yadav.