Why the controversy over No Ball happened in IPL 2022, know here

No Ball: Tomorrow i.e. on 13th April Royal Challengers Bangalore and Chennai Super Kings The 24th match of IPL 2022 was played at Dr. DY Patil Cricket Stadium in Mumbai. In this match, Chennai Super Kings found their first win of IPL 2022.

Chennai Super Kings tasted defeat by 23 runs to Royal Challengers. But during the batting of Royal Challengers, a no ball was bowled by Dwayne Bravo, after which this no ball has become very much discussed. Today we are going to tell you through this article how many types of no ball are there.

Why the umpire called Dwayne’s ball a No Ball?

Dwayne Bravo

Actually, Dwayne Bravo bowled the 14th over during the batting of Royal Challengers Bangalore. When Dwayne got the fourth ball of his over, the umpire called it a no ball. At first the fans thought that Ambati Rayudu, standing at short fine leg, was 30 yards outside, so the ball was a no ball.

After this MS Dhoni, Rayudu and Bravo spoke to the umpire about it. Then it came to light that behind the square of the wicket in the leg-side there could not be more than two fielders and at that time three fielders of CSK were present there, due to which this ball was termed as no ball. But it is known to very few fans that not more than two fielders can be kept behind the square on the leg side, due to which this became the cause of the issue.

What is No Ball,

no ballno ball

A no ball is a ball that is not considered a valid ball. If a ball is declared a no ball, the batting team gets a run on it. This run is added to the team’s account. It is not related to the batsman’s score. If the batsman scores a run with the bat on a no ball, it will definitely be added to his and the team’s account.

Also, that ball has to be thrown again correctly. Although this ball is not valid, it is added to the account of the batsman playing. The batsman is not out in any way except run out on a no ball. When a no ball is bowled in fixed overs cricket i.e. ODI and T20, the next ball is a free hit. The batsman cannot be bowled or caught on this over. He can only be run out or stumped.

When does No Ball happen?

no ballno ball

According to the website of the Marylebone Cricket Club, the law making body of cricket,

1. If there is no part of the bowler’s foot behind the front line of the crease at the time of bowling, the ball is a no ball. Umpires are very strict in the matter of no balls. In such a situation, some part of the foot should be inside the crease while throwing the ball. Even if the foot is on the line, it is considered a no ball.

2. If the bowler’s back foot remains outside the side line and towards the bowling crease at the time of bowling, the ball is a no ball.

3. If the ball of the full toss remains above the waist of the batsman batting, then it is a no ball.

4. If the bowler does not show his method before the ball is bowled, it is considered a no ball. For example, if a bowler is bowling with the right hand, but then suddenly throws the ball with the left hand, it is called a no ball. Similarly when bowling over the wicket there is a no ball even if you bowl around the wicket without being told.

5. If the umpire thinks the bowler is throwing a throw, it is a no ball.

6. If the bowler bowls the ball before the run up is taken, it is a no ball.

7. If the ball bounces twice before reaching the batsman, it is still a no ball.

8. Throwing an under arm ball is a no ball.

9. If the ball stops before hitting the batsman’s bat, it is a no ball.

10. If the wicketkeeper catches the ball past the stumps before it comes into contact with the batsman, it is still a no ball.

11. If the ball bounces off the pitch, it is a no ball.

12. If more than two fielders are positioned behind the square (behind the stump line) on the leg side, it is a no ball

13. If the umpire thinks that the bowler bowls the ball in a dangerous manner, it is a no ball.

14. If the bowler’s hand goes below the shoulder while throwing the ball, it is a no ball.

15. If the bowler hits the stumps of the non-strike end while bowling, it is a no ball.

16. If the ball goes over the head of the batter, the umpire can still declare a no ball.

17. If the umpire feels that the position of the wicketkeeper is not correct, then a no ball can be given.